Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Too Cool!

I was so shocked and excited to see this in my Twitter feed! Check out the Canadian-Mom-Bloggers Daily! My latest post on the BornFreeMoms.Ca site is on there!

You might also want to check out this site! I've been thinking of trying Little One on Ddrops for Kids.

Have you given Ddrops to your kids? If so, let me know what you think :)

Just for you...

Two book reviews and more giveaways coming soon! In the meantime, here's something I wrote for Leave a comment over there and you can win something from BornFree!

Bonus Prizes

If you bring a friend who is new to the community and she posts as well, both of you will win and receive bonus prize. Be sure to tell us who shared this post with you in the comments!

BPA-FREE Mom & Proud

Saturday, September 25, 2010


That's how Little One pronounces the word "chocolate"! It's really funny how she puts the emphasis on the first syllable of most of her words. Kind of like when she says "Ahhhhh-Pull" for "apple".

Anyway, the winner for the Island Gift Pack contest has been chosen via Random.Org.
Chantal, you are the winner of a basket of local Island goodies! Please contact us with your mailing info! Thanks to all who entered. More contests coming up!

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Krafty Creations Review and Giveaway!

I've raved about Krafty Creations on this reviews blog before. You know how much I love Krafty Creations' no-slip clips, crocheted beanies, cotton beanies, headbands, mini clips, and flower clips. Love them!
The no-slip clips are a Mom's best friend. The clips do not slip out of baby's hair! There's nothing I hate more than missing clips!

The headbands are among my fave items. Why? They're so soft and they don't dig into baby's head! You know what I mean?
Cupcake clip photo by Krafty Creations

I think the little cupcake clips are adorable. Don't you think so too?

BUY Krafty Creations goodies at the Krafty Creations Etsy Shop.

WIN this adorable crocheted beanie here! Isn't it the sweetest?!
Photo supplied by Krafty Creations

Krafty Creations is giving one Random Thoughts and Musings from the Island REVIEWS reader this super cute beanie!

To Win:
Simply go to the Krafty Creations Etsy Shop and browse through all her amazing items. Come back here and let me know which item you would like to have!

For additional entries:
* "Like" Krafty Creations on Facebook! Let me know in the comment section here.
* If you've purchased anything at the Krafty Creations Etsy Shop, let me know!
* "Like" Random Thoughts and Musings on the Island REVIEWS on Facebook.
* Follow us on Google Friend Connect.
* Follow us on Twitter @chancesmommy and Tweet this contest.
* Grab our button (on the sidebar) and post it on your site or blog. Leave us the link where you posted it :)
* Follow us on Networked Blogs.

That's EIGHT ways to win this awesome prize!
Contest open to U.S. and Canadian residents only. Contest ends on October 8, 2010!

Monday, September 20, 2010

Mo'Lovely Designs Review and Giveaway

Mo'Lovely Designs are known for their wire wrapped necklaces. Each piece is handcrafted by the lovely and talented Sophie Pheasant Jones herself.

Excerpt from the Mo'Lovely Designs website:
About Mo’Lovely Jewellery: I am attached to working with shells, particularily Mother of Pearl, different types of shells have been used historically to adorn our traditional clothing, influencing my design. Quality materials are used to create the jewellery, each piece is hand made, using silver-plated wire, surgical steel ear hooks and a variety of crystal, glass, acrylic and metal beads.

Each piece is stunning and unique. If you've ever had a chance to see Sophie and her creations at any of the Farmers' Markets, pow wows, or other events, you no doubt already appreciate her work.

Each piece reminds me of Sophie. The beautiful blue wire wrapped necklace I wear brings me the same relaxed, soothing, peaceful feeling I get whenever I see Sophie at one of those venues mentioned above. Though we have never spoken at great length, you just know that the artist has a lovely, calm, peaceful way about her.

Check out her creations here: Mo'Lovely Designs Facebook Page.

Buy her jewelry here: Mo'Lovely Designs website.

Win it here:

Luckily for you, Mo'Lovely Designs is giving away this beautiful set to one Random Thoughts and Musings from the Island REVIEWS reader!TO WIN:
Just visit the Mo'Lovely Facebook page and browse through all of Sophie's fabulous creations. Come back here and leave me a message with which necklace, earrings, or set you like best!

Additional entries:
- "Like" Mo'Lovely Designs on Facebook. Don't forget to let me know in a new comment.
-"Like" Random Thoughts and Musings from the Island REVIEWS on Facebook.
- Follow me @chancesmommy on Twitter.
-Tweet this contest and let me know using: "RT @chancesmommy Enter the Mo'Lovely Giveaway!"
- Follow this blog on Google Friend Connect.
-Grab my button and post it on your site. Leave me the link so I know where to find it.

Good luck, everyone!

Open to Canadian and U.S. residents only. Contest ends Friday, October 1, 2010.

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Another Reason to Love BornFree!

Read this post on the BornFree Canada site and leave a comment. You can win a Twin Pack of BornFree Eco-Friendly Bottles...AND if you're a BornFree Canada fan on Facebook, you can win a BornFree Breast Pump Adapter!

How awesome is that?!

Saturday, September 18, 2010

Krafty Creations

Becoming a parent can do strange things to you. Okay, maybe it's just me?

I was never really a girlie girl and I always HATED pink! I swore that if I ever had a little girl that I would steer clear of all things pink, frilly, frou-frou, and princess-like.

Well, I did have a baby girl and now pink isn't all that bad.

In fact, I LOVE pink. On her.
When my bestie introduced me to Krafty Creations Boutique, I was hooked. Hooked, I tell ya! I mean, check out that awesome loot bag from Krafty Creations! It's got tons of adorable hair clips, headbands, no-slip clips (which are what Little One NEEDS!), and cute flower clip beanie. So cool!

I have to tell you about these amazing clips! The no slip clips are a MUST HAVE if you have a toddler like mine. You know, the kind that doesn't like wearing things in her hair!!! I cannot tell you how many clips I've lost. I've got so many missing clips, it's ridiculous.

I know. You're thinking, "Well, why bother putting anything in her hair then?"
Oh, I'll tell you why! It's because EVERYONE thinks Little One is a boy...even when she's all decked out in PINK and has earrings AND pink ribbons in her hair!!! Come on, people! Seriously?

Now I have to resort to putting girlie things in my daughter's hair. Fine by me! These Krafty Creations are A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E!!!

Check out the Krafty Creations Etsy shop and make sure to "like" Krafty Creations on Facebook!

Cute little headbands! Each headband is made with soft stretchy material. Nothing like the crazy ones I've bought for Little One before. I swear, some of the headbands on the market are like head restraints! They go on so tightly and leave imprints on my kid's head! No wonder she hates wearing them! These ones from Krafty Creations are great. Little One didn't even realize that she was wearing them! Love them!

"Okay. Seriously, Mom? Do we have to keep taking photos of me trying on ALL these goodies? Seriously."

By the looks of this last pic, I'd say Little One's just about had it with her Mama.

Stay tuned though, because I have something very exciting coming for you soon!!!

Friday, September 17, 2010

Thank You!

Photo from Google Images

Thank you to everyone who has supported "the blog". This reviews blog is still in its infancy. It's only a few months old. It's an extension of my personal blog and dedicated to reviews, contests and giveaways. The original blog is just me rambling and talking about everything and nothing...and all things baby. Okay, she's a toddler now and I need to stop calling her "the baby".

With this new reviews blog, we've had lots of success and the opportunity to work with so many great companies and so many wonderful bloggers and readers.

To thank you all for following and liking Random Thoughts and Musings from the Island REVIEWS. As a thank you, I will be giving one lucky reader a package containing some amazing local Manitoulin Island products! The prize pack will include chocolate, jam, chili sauce, and a few other local goodies.

To win, all you have to do is spread the word! Tell your family and friends to follow us on Google Friend Connect, Networked Blogs, Facebook, and Twitter. Don't forget to tell them to mention that you sent them! That way you can earn extra entries for every person you send!

A winner will be chosen at random via Random.Org.

Contest open to Canadian and U.S. residents only. Contest ends Friday, September 24, 2010.

Mo'Lovely Designs

Many people are unaware of this, but the Island is home to a wealth of very talented artists. Be it in the form of textile art, painting, jewelry making, photography, wood carving, pottery, singing, or acting, the Island is rich in art.

In my many trips to various community events like the Pow Wow in Wiky or the Farmers' Markets, I've long lusted over the creations of Sophie Pheasant Jones. In the past, I've bought earrings from her. My eldest niece is now a teenager and loves jewelry. I love Sophie's craftsmanship, the love she puts into each piece, and the fact that her creations are original. I also love that by buying Mo'Lovely Designs, we're supporting a local business.

The other day, a really good friend of mine and I were taking my ESL student a day trip. On our way to the city, my friend pulled out this amazing Sophie Pheasant necklace.
Me: Wow! Is that a Sophie Pheasant original!?!?!?
V: Why, yes it is!
Me: You bought something for yourself from Sophie?
V: No. I bought it for YOU!
Me: (shocked) What!? No way!!! Really?! What did you do that for?!
V: Well, you always do so much for everyone. You are an amazing woman who does it all and I don't know how you do it. I just wanted to get you something because you are so amazing.

Okay, me writing down that conversation sounds really narcissistic! Her words just meant so much to me. I was so touched, I almost cried! Anyway, my friend got me one of Sophie's necklaces and it's in my favourite colour!

Here's another necklace I've been eyeing! I'm in luuuuuuuv!Ahem! Honey, if you're reading this...Someone's got a birthday coming up a week before Christmas! :) I'd like it in blue.

You can find Sophie's fabulous creations on Facebook or at the Mo'Lovely webpage.

Monday, September 13, 2010

Because I Love You Guys...

I thought you should all know that you can get some awesome freebies and coupons from P & G Canada just by signing up for P & G brandSAMPLER! Great samples from top P & G brands sent right to your home. You can try out some of the top health, beauty, and home care products!
Sign up now!

Sunday, September 12, 2010

CRAYOLA, We Love You!

Not only do Crayola products cultivate the imagination and creativity in kids, but they provide many other developmental tools little ones need.

Crayola products help with fine motor skills. Crayola products also help children learn their colours. They help with numbers . We're teaching Little One how to count her crayons and markers when it's clean up time. Yes, I'm anal like that. I make my 21 month old count her art supplies as she puts them back into her Rubbermaid container to make sure she hasn't lost or misplaced any of them. Granted, she can only count up to five right now.
Crayola crayons keep Little One busy for HOURS! Hooray!

These are the Crayola products we have at our home:

These are quite possibly Little One's favourite of all the Crayola products. She sees Mom and Dad with pens and thinks these are just like grown-up pens. Perhaps it's not too wise for a Mom to let her 21 month old play with coloured pencils. Well, the good thing is that they're not sharp. The clear plastic barrels keep them from breaking and when they get worn down, you just twist them and keep on colouring!

Small in size, but big in colour!
CRAYOLA Pip-Squeaks are the perfect size for little hands. They're easy to hold and the ink is washable and specially formulated for little ones. Our Little One loves the variety in colours. She loves mixing them together to make new colours. It's every budding artist's dream come true. Okay, every little kid's (and big kid's) dream come true!

These were the first of the Crayola products that I ever bought for Little One. She only started using them two weeks ago, and now she's using the crayons, pencils and markers! Okay, I have to confess that the main reason I never let Little One use art supplies was because I didn't think she was ready. Oh, okay. I didn't think she'd be able to use them without making a sheer mess out of herself, my furniture, and everything else.

Who was I to hold her back though? She clearly LOVES colouring and "drawing". LOVES IT. I'm not worried about her making toooooo much mess with Crayola though. I know everything is washable.

The triangular crayons were perfect for her introduction to writing and colouring implements. Because of the way they are shaped and designed, they are super easy for pudgy little toddler hands to hold.

The thing I love best about Crayola? They're WASHABLE!!! :) Thank you, Crayola! Thanks for being educational, fun, and...WASHABLE!! Note the lovely tattoo my toddler is sporting on her arm? :)

Straight from the Heart

First Kiss captured by Heather Morgan of
Photo of Nimkee and his Mom

Sometimes I think of Little One's first 70 days of life and all the memories of life in the NICU return. Though each day was a roller coaster ride, her life in the NICU was nothing compared to the experiences of some other precious babes and their parents.

Many of you know that because of our experience with Little One being in the NICU, we will always support Mount Sinai Hospital and Sick Kids Hospital, and we will always be grateful to the team of medical experts who took care of Little One.

When we heard of Bennett-Chadlen-Roy's story, it hit close to home. Though his story was quite different from ours, it really had an impact on us. We knew we had to help out in some way and help parents with babies in the NICU.

It meant a lot to us to be able to befriend and help out Bennett's Mom, Melissa Dawn Roy in her latest project (the Nimkee Blessings Benefit Concert). What amazing work she is doing in helping other parents and families with babies in the NICU.

Check out her blog and see how you can help.

P.S. Thanks for the shout out, Melissa!

Friday, September 10, 2010

We LOVE Piggy Paint!

Hubby and I agree on most things when it comes to parenting our sweet Little One. Well, except when it comes to all things girlie.

He wasn't too keen on me getting Little One's ears pierced when she was 11 months old (8 months corrected). He wasn't too thrilled when he saw her adorable fingernails adorned with Piggy Paint either.

He's a farm boy and isn't too keen on anything girlie. However, I suspect this is all just a front and he really does like having a little princess with all her frou-frou, pink, girlie girl things.

I have to say that I just love, love, LOVE Piggy Paint!Why? Well, not only is it fun for Little One to get all decked out and prettied up, but Piggy Paint is safe to use on wee ones! That's right, folks! Natural, non-toxic nail polish that is as "Natural as Mud"! How awesome is that!?It's hypoallergenic, eco-friendly, and low in odour!

Little one and her buddy had a Piggy Paint party. They were so thrilled to have their very first manis and pedis! Love it!

Little One's fave colour is Forever Fancy.

Want some Piggy Paint for your little munchkin or tween? Get Piggy Paint here! Oh, and great news for Canadian Piggy Paint fans! Piggy Paint has just lowered their shipping costs to Canada!

* Colours shown: Clouds of Candy, Girls Rule, Angel Kisses, and Forever Fancy.

Happy Friday...and a Butt Paste Winner!

Dum dee dum dum dum...

We've got a winner!

Seriously, people. Since this reviews blog is new, the entries for the contests are still relatively low. This is good news for you, because it means that your chances of winning are pretty high!

Seriously. With only 5 entries for the Butt Paste contest, your chances were 1 in 5! :)

We are happy to announce that the winner of the Butt Paste contest is...


Anonymous said...

I would take some butt paste to try out. Little one due Feb 11th, and being a first time mom im already on the look out for good products that work!
Thanks Catherine-Spring Bay

Catherine, please contact us with your mailing info so we can get your prize out to you :)

Friday, September 3, 2010

Simply on Board Contest Winner

The winner of our Simply on Board Giveaway is...

announced here.

Thursday, September 2, 2010

Boudreaux's Butt Paste: Review and Giveaway!

Every once in a while, Little One breaks out in full on diaper rash. It's usually from when she's teething or if she's pooped a lot. Sometimes the diaper rash is so bad that she cries when I change her diaper.

At a visit to the doctor's office sometime last year, I was given tons of samples for Boudreaux's Butt Paste. I laughed at the name. It's actually kind of funny!

The product itself is really good. Plus, I felt comforted in knowing that it was recommended by Little One's doctor. I figured that they wouldn't be giving Boudreaux's Butt Paste to their youngest patients if they didn't believe in the product. Right?

Boudreaux's Butt Paste is brought to you by the people at Blairex Laboratories.

Helps treat and prevent diaper rash

"Boudreaux's Butt Paste® was specifically formulated by a pharmacist with direction from a respected pediatrician to provide effective diaper rash care." (from the company's website)

I was given one of each product in the Boudreaux's Butt Paste line to try out and review for my readers.
Boudreaux's Rash Protector
Contains Peruvian Balsam for healthy skin and goes on easily. The way the container is designed, you can apply the product on your baby's tushy from any angle (even upside down). If you're like me and have to sometimes wrestle with a wiggly toddler who tries to "help" you change a dirty diaper, having a product that is easy to apply is key! The Rash Protector also helps seal out wetness and acts like a barrier. I really like this product.

Boudreaux's Baby Butt Smooth Dry Skin Ointment
Also contains Peruvian Balsam to keep baby's skin healthy, moisturized, and soft. This product is good to use every day and after bathing baby. The thing I like about these products is that there is no strong fragrance. It actually smells good, without being overpowering.

Boudreaux’s Baby Butt Bath Moisturizing Body Wash & Shampoo
Gentle enough to use on infants and children. The non-irritating formula restores moisture to baby's skin from bathing.

I'm always a bit apprehensive about trying new products on Little One because she has such sensitive skin. She reacts to certain products if they contain fragrances. I have to say that she did not react to the body wash and shampoo. I was relieved that it is tear-free, non-irritating, PH-balanced, and that it soothes the skin. With Little One, I am very careful with skin care products. She gets bumps on her arms and face when something doesn't agree with her.

Boudreaux's Baby Kisses Infant & Kid Lip and Cheek MoisturizerI have to say that this is by far the coolest of the products! I really like the idea of having a lip and cheek moisturizer especially for little ones. It was created especially for infants and kids, without the use of unnecessary additives. Little One thought it was fun to have her own lip moisturizer. She sees Mom put on lip gloss and thinks this is the same thing. The first time, however, she tried to EAT it!

Boudreaux's Butt Paste
Of course, I couldn't write a review for Boudreaux's Butt Paste without writing about the butt paste! As I mentioned earlier, I had discovered Boudreaux's Butt Paste at one of Little One's doctor's appointments. I was given samples of the butt paste to use on her, and my initial reaction was, "Whoa! This is not like the regular zinc cream I use on her butt!"

This butt paste is sort of grey in colour and looks kind of...pasty. The fragrance is actually very pleasant and to my surprise, Boudreaux's Butt Paste really did the job and did it well! It is very gentle on the skin and it does not irritate the skin. It also lasts longer! With other creams I have used in the past, the cream just disappears soon after it is applied. Boudreaux's Butt Paste goes on nicely, and stays on...which is a good thing! The funny thing is that even though the paste stays on when you need it to, it comes off easily! Bonus!

Butt Paste contains zinc oxide and Peruvian Balsam, and comes in different sizes. I like the container/jar for home and the tube for travel. Actually, if I have to be completely honest, I'd have to say that I really, really prefer the tube over the jar/container, only because I worry about contamination and germs. Even if I was my hands before and after changing Little One's diaper, I kind of shudder at the thought of contaminating a product that is applied to her sensitive area (okay, her butt!).

I would definitely recommend this product and I have even given Boudreaux's Butt Paste to friends for baby showers or just "whenever". I might sound like a weirdo, but at Little One's first birthday, I put packages of Boudreaux's Butt Paste in the kids' loot bags! Most of the kids were the same age as Little One and were still in diapers. I figured Butt Paste was a better option than sweets (which I wouldn't give to my kid anyway)! Yes, I'm that mother! ;)

**You can get a free sample of Boudreaux's Butt Paste. Just go to their website for details.**

You can order online or purchase Boudreaux's Butt Paste at fine retailers nationwide (by nationwide, I suppose they mean in the U.S., but I have seen the products for sale here in Canada as well).

Good news for you! The lovely people at Boudreaux's/Blairex have not only given me some products to sample, but they have also given me a sizable amount of Butt Paste to share with a lucky reader!

MANDATORY - Go to the Boudreaux's Butt Paste website and check out all their products. Leave me a message in my comments section to let me know which product you would like to try.

Additional entries:
(Please use separate comments per additional entry)

- Follow me @chancesmommy on Twitter and Tweet this contest.
- Follow me on Google Friend Connect (on my sidebar).
- "Like" Random Thoughts and Musings from the Island REVIEWS on Facebook.
- Grab my button (html code on my sidebar) and post it on your blog. Please send me the link to where you posted it, so I can find you :)

Good luck, everyone! Contest open to Canadian and U.S. residents only. Contest ends September 10th, 2010.

*I was given Boudreaux's Butt Paste products for review purposes. The thoughts and opinions on this blog are my own.*